Georgia Courts

Judicial Council Recommends New Superior Court Judgeships

September 13, 2013


Atlanta, GA — The Judicial Council of Georgia, chaired by Chief Justice Hugh P. Thompson, met in Atlanta on September 13, 2013, to consider requests for new superior court judgeships. After reviewing caseload data for the requesting circuits, the Council approved the following requests in order of priority:


   1. Coweta Circuit

   2. Waycross Circuit



These recommendations are forwarded to the Governor and the General Assembly to be considered for legislative action in the 2014 session.  New judgeships are created by the General Assembly; the bill authorizing a new position provides for the effective date, initial term, and stipulates election or appointment of the initial judge. 


Designated judges of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, superior courts and the limited jurisdiction trial courts serve on the Judicial Council.